City Hall is the headquarters of the Greater London Authority (GLA), which comprises the Mayor of London and the London Assembly. It is located in Southwark, on the south bank of the River Thames near Tower Bridge. It was designed by Norman Foster and opened in July 2002, two years after the Greater London Authority was created. 

The London Assembly is an elected watchdog for the capital made up of 25 Assembly Members. Its role is to examine how effective the Mayor’s policies, decisions and activities are. It champions London, investigating issues that affect everyday life in the capital to find ways of improving our city for everyone who lives here. It ensures the Mayor is held publicly accountable every day, not just at election time.

Find out more about Labour's Assembly Members, and who your Assembly Member is, under the 'Assembly Members' tab above. 

Do you like this page?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.